I have had the book ‘The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen Covey on my bookshelf for years.  Numerous times I have picked it up and scanned it and put it back down.  For some reason, a few weeks ago I felt compelled to read it from beginning to end.

The points that seemed obvious on the previous scans, now seemed insightful and revealing.  I had placed myself high on his scale of personal development before, now I felt like I was lower on the ladder and could see all these habits that I needed to work on.

I am writing about this as background to the one line that leapt off the page and permanently embedded itself in my memory half way through the book.

“Honesty is telling the truth – in other words conforming our words to reality.  Integrity is conforming reality to our words – in other words, keeping promises and fulfilling expectations.”

I find it fascinating that once you find the words to describe a feeling or intuition, the feeling goes away?  I can’t really describe what I thought before I read that line.  But now I know the difference between honesty and integrity and it has changed my behavior permanently.  Neat.

 

